Anime: Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai


It’s been awhile since I’ve watched an anime that made me cry buckets in almost every episode and AnoHana did just that. It has a ridiculously long name for an anime title and the name doesn’t fit into the anime in any way until you get to the last episode, but still it’s one tear-inducing anime. I guess that figures, because it deals with death. The death of Menma causes a group of childhood friends to drift apart and it’s when they are in middle/high school when the anime picks up. Menma is back, as a ghost who can only be seen by the leader of that group of friends – Jinta who has become a hikimori.

I caught on to this anime pretty late, it was already 4 episodes in but ever since that first episode I could not put the anime down. I watched all 4 episodes in one sitting and patiently waited for the rest of the 11 episodes to be out before catching up on the rest. Personally, it’s because I felt that for an anime such as this, it’s no fun waiting for the next episode to come out. Besides it’s pretty short anime which can very manageably be watched in one sitting. I also feel that it keeps things fresh in your mind and you can really appreciate the atmosphere the anime is creating.

Essentially, it’s about getting Menma to heaven by granting her wish, naturally they have to figure out what her wish is, come back as a group (which I might add is not easy at all, these are some seriously messed up kids) and of course fulfill that wish. Through this journey, we see flashbacks of what their childhood was like, we see hurt, pain, loss, love and so many other feelings that occur when one loses a friend they loved dearly.

I loved the effects in the opening and closing sequences. I loved the scenery and the backgrounds. I loved the parents that they portrayed in the anime. I loved Menma, because I don’t think anyone could hate her, really. And even though these kids are so screwed up or messed up and have so many emotions that they keep bottled up because of the events that transpired as they were children, I loved them too. The things they did because of the death of a friend is plausible, the way in which they each came to terms with that in the end was really what the show was about. It prodded very deeply and painfully into each character’s feelings for Menma and for each other. It was a sad but apt portrayal of what life can become.

I can’t really comment on the music, because I was crying too much, but the art was beautifully done and the characters, the voices of the characters, the emotions from those voices were superb. I really have nothing bu praise for the anime. Some of the ways each of the characters deals with the death can be a little bit extreme, but the only thing perhaps that gnawed at me was their childhood feelings. I suppose because of the abruptness that death has on relationships, these unresolved feelings can get pretty out of hand.

Definitely a tear-jerker of an anime. Is it worth that box of tissue and red-puffy eyes? Definitely.

Comments
3 Responses to “Anime: Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai”
  1. TWWK says:

    Such an emotional series…I haven’t watched one since that made my eyes tear up as much as this one. I had entirely different expectations for the series based on its staff, but the end result was just as satisfying for me.

    • everworld says:

      I agree! Tokyo Magnitude 8 comes a close second, although it deals with a very different situation. Also Toradora which is by the same production company was quite emotional as well, although, they do tend to make more romance comedies.

Leave a Reply

