Anime: Usagi Drop


A note of caution before I start. I’ve read the manga and I love the manga. So I’m slightly biased.

For the review of the manga see here: https://annoyingdragon.wordpress.com/2011/07/30/manga-usagi-drop/

Usagi Drop is a heartwarming story about Rin and Daikichi. How they come to live together and how they’re changing each other’s lives. It’s a beautiful story with the art and animation to match. Everything about this anime is sweet and cute and sad all at the same time. Perhaps because of the circumstance of Rin and Daikichi, the story of Usagi drop is able to look into so many issues. From not having a father or mother from Rin’s perspective, looking at death from a child’s point of view, the sacrifices parents make, adjusting to new life, bed wetting, acceptance, making friends, falling in love, juggling work and family. There’s so many issues that Usagi drop tackles, it’s actually quite a feat. Through it all we see the relationship between Rin and Daikichi grow, the bond between them becoming stronger.

I like how the manga was made into an anime. I think the essence was kept, I think the art suits the story very well. I think the music matched the story. I loved the opening and ending songs, they were SO cute and SO apt. I don’t know why I gave it a 8/10 at MAL, perhaps, it was too short? And yet, I don’t want them to continue adapting the manga. I want Rin to stay young and perfect forever. Her expressions are PRICELESS at this age! If they were going to have a sequel though, I hope it’s more of childhood Rin.

Just saying. Personal preference. Who doesn’t want to see more of Rin?

It’s at times similar to the feeling you get from Kimi ni Todoke, but it concentrates on a very different relationship. For the shoujo lovers out there, for the slice of slice genre lovers out there, this is the anime for you. Be prepared to smile, laugh and perhaps tear. It will leave you with a very satisfied feeling after – that’s reason enough to watch right?

Comments
2 Responses to “Anime: Usagi Drop”
  1. TWWK says:

    Yes, no more adaptation, please…end it here. Older Rin is a good character, too, but…the conclusion is, well… :P

Leave a Reply

