Book: Future Grace


Let me share another resolution I had for this year. It was to do quiet time everyday.

Well, let’s just say I haven’t quite done my QT EVERYDAY, but I’ve been trying!

So anyways, for the month of January I was reading one chapter of John Piper’s The purifying power of living by faith in Future Grace each day.

It’s a good half hour read each day. A good way to start off my day. It had a pretty good balance of the theological stuff followed by application stuff. I especially enjoyed reading the application chapters, they were useful and very relevant covering such issues as anxiety, pride, shame, impatience, covetousness, bitterness, despondency and lust. I mean these are all issues that we grapple with, some more than others.

The entire book was well structured. Before each application chapter was normally 2 to 3 chapters about the more theological or should I say biblical basis for why we suffered from those issues and how faith in future grace helps us to overcome. You can start from any topic you want, almost anywhere in the book, which makes it a book you can come back to time and time again to remind you of what faith in future grace looks like. I also loved how it was peppered with verses that were familiar but sometimes we just seem to gloss over.

I’m super thankful that my friend gave me this book and I’ve come to really enjoy reading books by John Piper. I think the first book I read by him was Don’t waste your life, which was a book that came to me at the right time in my life. Although I cannot say that I haven’t been wasting my life. Still guilty of that I’m afraid.

So yes, would recommend the book to anyone out there who wonders what living by faith really is about.

On a side note, I’m studying for the Moore Correspondence Course ( Old Testament 1 and Doctrine 1) for Feb. And hopefully Koorong will have a sale soon, so that I can get books for the rest of the year! :)

Leave a Reply

