Looking for Anime


I’m not very inspired with the anime I’ve been watching recently with the exception of Sakamichi no Apollon which is not coming out fast enough. So I was wondering if anyone had any pre-2000 anime series to recommend. I’ve watched the famous stuff like Cardcaptor Sakura, Trigun, Cowboy Bebop and Kindaichi. But there has to be more than that right? I’ve seen less popular series like Cooking master boy which I loved and Houshin Engi which brought me to the manga which is my favourite series of all time. It’s just that I’m wondering if I’ve missed a few gems from the 20th century.

I’m pretty open to suggestion (other than NGE – it’s on my to watch list but I’m just not feeling it). So yes, if any pop to mind, let me know!

Comments
4 Responses to “Looking for Anime”
  1. TWWK says:

    I’d definitely recommend the pre-2000 Miyazaki movies. While Spirited Away (2001) is probably the height of his films, most of his best ones were from before that time. Some of the great Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli films include Princess Mononoke, Whisper of the Heart, My Neighbor Totoro, Grave of the Fireflies, Only Yesterday, My Neighbor the Yamadas, Kiki’s Delivery Service, and Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind.

    Tenchi Muyo is one of my all-time favorite series and certainly has a 90s vibe to it. Rurouni Kenshin is excellent and is worth watching just to get to the first two OVAs, which I often call the “perfect anime” (warning: they are far more violent than the TV series).

    Escaflowne is a popular shoujo/mecha series from the 90s, The Irresponsible Captain Tylor is a fun, comedic sci-fi series, and Serial Experiments Lain is a strange but excellent show.

    If you really want to get old, Maison Ikkoku and Kimagure Orange Road are terrific rom-coms from the 80s.

    • everworld says:

      I totally agree with how Miyazaki pre-2000 films are his best. My favourite has got to be Whisper of the Heart. The only thing is that My Neighbour the Yamadas is proving difficult to find and is rarely included even in Studio Ghibli box sets. But yes, evidently I must renew my efforts in finding it.

      Rurouni Kenshin I watched for a bit, when it was popular and on Tv at the time, but ended up following the manga instead. I’ve heard many good things about the OVAs, but I’ve only watched one of them I think. Serial Experiments Lain I watched, by I never understood, perhaps because I was too young then, so maybe it’s due for a rewatch soon.

      I think I’ll definitely check out Escaflowne, just because it sounds interesting. Maison Ikkoku, Kimagure Orange Road and Irresponsible Captain Tylor seem quite appealing as well. I’m a bit more apprehensive about Tenchi Muyo, simply because of the harem, but thanks so much for the recommendations!

      • TWWK says:

        No problem!

        Tenchi Muyo! definitely has that harem element (in fact, it’s considered the father of harem shows); it’s also has some in-your-face fanservice. However, it’s surprisingly character and plot-driven (the background novels for the series are quite extensive).

      • everworld says:

        Haha, you got me at character and plot-drive. The question now will be finding the show!

Leave a Reply

