Book: The Ladies of Grace Adieu


This book by Susanna Clarke is set in the same world she crafted for Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. I loved the setting of her novel, , but I remember not enjoying the story as much. This book of short stories however is just perfect! I think she writes the loveliest short stories that are fun to read. Add to that my infatuation with faeries and you have a winner.

I have to say that I am totally in love with her writing style. It’s just so pretty and I wish I could write like her. I know that it’s an imitation of Jane Austen’s writing style, but I’ve never read any books by her (a crime which should be rectified, I know). But it’s such a beautiful and endearing style! I had to gush about it.

Moving on, the collection of short stories is similar to J.K. Rowling’s The Tales of Beddle the Bard, in the sense that it is written as if it is a factual collection of stories and even includes “introductions” to each of the stories and footnotes and things like that. I’ve begun to appreciate how matter of fact the fantastical are put forward and how this constitutes as humour. I never used to get it, but I’m getting there.

The collection of 8 stories, shows off Clarke’s imagination and her ability to write fairy tales for adults, because that’s essentially what they are. Tales about faeries. It’s hard for me to describe what they are about, they’re so varied in genre, plot and characters. I think you’ll have to read it for yourself. I enjoyed them immensely, and some were particularly funny.

Leave a Reply

