Day 11 – A book you hated


Hate, such a strong word is it not? It’s hard to hate a book if you’ve actually read the entire book. I mean it takes time and effort to read books and if you really disliked the book so much, you would have put it down mid-way or even in the beginning and moved on to something else. So I can’t say with certainty that these are books I hate, I think they are well written, even interesting and gripping and actually pretty good reads, but the ideas and scenes they described are more than unsettling. They’re downright distasteful.

Blackwood farm by Anne Rice left a deep seated impression on me. I loved Anne Rice but was never allowed to read her books as a child/teenager. But eventually after I was old enough, I devoured her vampire books as quickly as possible and have held them in high regard until Blackwood farm. You have to actually have read the book to understand how wrong it is. Now Anne Rice has never shied away from morally ambiguous or down right wrong issues, but I suppose I read Blackwood farm at a time when I was not yet ready to read such things. Although then again, I doubt I’ll ever be ready.

The other book or in this case series has has deeply impacted me is the his dark materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman. To be honest I loved the first two books, but by the third I was beginning to have my doubts. It was only a few years later that I found it was anti-Christianity (anti-religion) although it was pretty obvious in the book. As a book I don’t usually take the whole metaphor/allusion thing seriously. I mean it’s a book, a fictional fantasy book so of course just about anything can happen. It’s up to the reader to interpret the book for themselves, but I guess the reason I didn’t appreciate it was because it was so blatant in it’s expression. If you’ve read the last book, I think you’ll understand what I mean. They killed God. I’m not even sure where I’m supposed to go with that. It disguises itself as a children’s or teen’s book but it’s not really like that at all. I would not allow my child to read it until they were say 16 or something. At least in the Narnia books you don’t actually get the symbolism unless you know your bible stories, his dark materials on the other hand presents themes and ideas that aren’t actually for young minds to young minds. Okay I’m digressing and yes I am biased in this view. But I will say this, I did enjoy the series immensely. I just can’t get over the God thing.

So yes, those are books I’ve read and hated. Do you have any books that you feel strongly about?

Leave a Reply

