Day 13 – Your favourite writer


Okay my favourite writer seems to change from time to time, I could give you a list of my favourite authors, but right now I think I’m most awed by Philip Reeve. Reason for this is I just finished reading one of his books – Fever Crumb.

I’ve always liked his books and for some reason they really stuck with me. His mortal engines quartet was brilliant and I’ve looked back on it fondly and was really excited when there was news that Peter Jackson might pick it up for a movie. But more on that another time.

I admit I haven’t read all his books, but I do plan to, sometime soon, especially after being amazed by Fever Crumb. I had my apprehensions going in, firstly it was a young adult/teenagers book. Secondly, although I enjoyed mortal engines, it’s been a long time since I read them and just because this was a prequel didn’t mean I would enjoy it as well. But Philip Reeve proves me wrong. I love how his characters are brought to life. They always strike a chord with you (regardless of your age apparently) and they’re strong independent and unique characters. The female characters are especially strong-willed and determined and yet they do portray the process of girls becoming women. It’s wonderful coming from a male author. The world he has created has always left a deep deep impact on me. Ever since I read mortal engines and was introduced to the world he created, it just blew me away. I distinctly remember the 60 minute war, how apt and ingenious it was. Coming back to the world he created so many years later, I’m still blown away by his attention to detail. It truly is the smallest things that make you smile and say hey this is possible and why didn’t I think of that. No doubt you have to know a few things about London (since that is one of the main settings) but it really just makes you smile when you see things like

celebrants in robes and pointed hates whirling and clapping and chanting the name of some old-world prophet, “Hari, Hari! Hari Potter!”

How he references things that are current and popular is just awesome. I have no other word for it. And that perhaps is why I like his writing so much. His books are mostly short, but they’re beautifully crafted and there are links that you see in them and they’re very touching as well. Not overly romantic, not cheesy in any way, but still sweet and sometimes bittersweet.

So yes favourite author right now would have to be Philip Reeve.

Leave a Reply

