Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t


There are a few books I’ve started and would like to finish, like Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern as well as Sophie’s world by Jostein Gaarder. I’ve read a chapter or two from both, but haven’t had the time to finish them. But the book that I’ve wanted to read for a really long time would have to be The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

 

I borrowed it at the library a long time ago, but had to return it before I could finish reading it. But if what I remember is correct, I really enjoyed the story that I had read thus far. It was a little tedious to get through, but it was witty and funny and it introduced me to Fyodor Dostoyevsky whom I had no knowledge of at the time. So yes, I’m definitely looking for the book at the library or looking to buy the book.

On a marginally related point, I love the Penguin Classics. More precisely I love the publishing house. I just really like the way they’ve designed the covers for many of the classic books. Like these Penguin Classics with the absolutely LOVELY distinctive black portion for the title and the spine. Those are secretly my favourite! They had some in RED too for a period of time.

 

Then they have the oh so pretty cloth bound versions.

And the modern classics. I adore the font!

And more recently new hardback versions! I would buy all my books in hardback if I could. And these are in the nicest baby blue.

And of course the classic ORANGE!

There are many others and I believe it’s worth an entire post on its own (and a good deal of research too).

Yes I have an almost unhealthy obsession with Penguin books. It’s just that their covers have always attracted me. If on a bookshelf I see a Penguin book, I automatically pick it up. If there are two versions of the book and one of them is a Penguin, I’d choose the penguin. I’m weird that way.

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t”
  1. Zen says:

    While I like all the other covers, I dislike the traditional orange. But maybe that’s because I don’t like it so much as a colour.

    The Night Circus and Sophie’s World are fantastic, by the way, the former moreso than the latter!

    • everworld says:

      I’ve heard many good things about the Night Circus and I love it because it’s very ‘Victorian’, but I just can’t seem to find it in the library. Should have finished it when I had the chance!

Leave a Reply

