Book: The Graveyard Book


The graveyard book is a children’s book by Neil Gaiman. I’ve heard good things about it from a friend, but it’s taken me awhile to get my hands on it and to actually read it. The story of having a boy grow up in a graveyard is not an uncommon one, I’ve seen it in manga and in anime, but it is my first time actually reading a book like this. Also because of its western roots, it’s really different from the stories that I’ve seen before.

There are a few versions of the book. Although the one I picked up was marketed for adults, I have to say that I didn’t like the illustrations and wished that I had found a different version. Then again the story was interesting although it felt slightly disjointed. Don’t get me wrong, the beginning was brilliant and each chapter really kept me hooked and were entertaining in their own right, it was just that they felt like individual stories rather than a whole story. I guess it has to do with how the book was written, some of the chapters were written as short stories and each seem to be set about 2 years apart. That said, the book was a good read, it really shows off Gaiman’s amazing ability to create a world but only show you part of it. There’s a lot happening behind the scenes that we don’t see, there are things that we are never told and it’s actually okay. There is still that sense of completeness to the story, yet at the same time there is room to let the story continue if he wanted to.

The graveyard book has won a number of awards and is definitely a good book. However, its’ not your conventional book. I suppose that you could say that it’s a compilation of short stories about a boy who grew up in a graveyard. I think a lot of people would enjoy reading it, each chapter is always full of adventure and rife with emotions. Also there is talk of a film version of the book. Personally I would prefer if it was a live action version rather than a stop motion animation similar to Coraline. And on that note, I should really get around to reading Coraline. Have any of you read either book? Which did you prefer?

Leave a Reply

