Book: Odd and the Frost Giants


Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman for World Book Day appeals to me because of its use of Norse mythology. I fell in love with Norse mythology since watching The Mythical Detective Loki Ragnarok and ever since then Loki has been my favourite Norse God. There have been plenty of other anime and books that have drawn from Norse mythology and it always makes me happy to read or watch them. So when I found this book while trawling the children’s section of the library, imagine my joy!

Odd and the frost giants is a short book that can be read in an afternoon. It follows the boy Odd who is, well rather odd. It’s both an adventure and also a clever story on how a boy grows up. Odd as a character is brilliant and the way he acts throughout the story just brings a smile to my face. The narrative itself is also entertaining, I really enjoyed the style in which it was written. It was funny and sarcastic at times and made for really light reading.

There’s not much more that I can say, considering that it’s about 120 pages long. I wish it was longer, I think there was a lot more that could be explored. Yet, at the same time, it was sufficient and self-contained, something that I’ve noticed Neil Gaiman does in a lot of his books. There’s always room for more, as and when the time comes, but it’s also always complete, so that readers aren’t left hanging.

Leave a Reply

