Book: Yokai Attack! The Japanese Monster Survival Guide


I rarely, if ever read non-fiction books. Seriously though, with a title that already sounds exciting and interesting coupled with a cover like this:

 

You cannot expect me to pass this by. So yes, as I walked past the non-fiction section, this book jumped out at me. I borrowed it. Read it and have no regrets.

For someone who really enjoys learning more about Japanese culture and has a morbid fascination with the supernatural and fantastical, this book is perfect. It details about 50 different Yokai’s information and history, adding in some defensive measures as a bonus. It’s was a joy to read, informative but also very entertaining. There were many mentions about the Gazu Hyakki Yako – The Illustrated  Night Parade of 100 Demons which was the basis of Nurarihyon No Mago. Also there were many mentions of Karuta cards, which I was familiar with due to the anime Chihayafuru.

It was fun to recognize Yokai and identify which anime I had seen them in. At the same time, I became acquainted with a lot of legends and folktales that Japan has. This also translates to some customs and festivals that Japan continues to celebrate. I loved everything about the book, the way it was written and structured. The information it contained. The full colour pictures it had. The random notes and scribbles. Not to mention that Natsuhiko Kyogoku penned a talisman to protect one from supernatural harm at the end of the book. I mean, he is the Japanese mystery author that brought us Mouryou no Hako. And is probably the author who really makes me wish I knew how to read Japanese.

So the long and short of it, is that I really loved the book. I am considering buying it, seeing how it’s only SGD$20 online.  And what’s more? There are two other books in this series Yurei Attack and Ninja Attack. I need to get my hands on those. And all these books have been brought to the world by Tuttle publishing, who incidentally published Edogawa Rampo’s Japanese Tales of Mystery and Imagination which I reviewed. I will probably write a post on Tuttle Publishing soon, but in all honesty, this is a great book. It’s a good read as well as a good resource and I cannot give it enough praise.

Comments
8 Responses to “Book: Yokai Attack! The Japanese Monster Survival Guide”
  1. Stephanie says:

    This looks awesome! I may have to buy it as well.

  2. TWWK says:

    Ironically, I recently read an interview with the book’s authors: http://www.tofugu.com/2012/10/25/ghosts-ghouls-and-goblins-oh-my-an-interview-with-altjapan/

    Seems like a great read!

  3. Hiroko & Matt! says:

    Glad you enjoyed reading it as much as we enjoyed writing it!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Annoying Dragon reviews Hiroko Yoda and Matt Alt’s Yokai Attack! [Living. Loving. Learning] […]

  2. […] freaked out by many of the ghosts (or in the local Malay language – Hantu). After reading Yokai Attack, I was especially keen to try this book […]

  3. […] on the impact that books can make as well as the forms in which they can take. It reminds me of Yokai Attack, which I adored. Yokai Attack was non fiction, in the sense that it detailed the lore and myths of […]



Leave a Reply

