It’s been a Long year


and it’s going to be a Long post, so bear with me. I have a lot to say as this year comes to an end, and the next year begins.

IMG_0406

It really has been an amazing year for me. So many things have happened, that makes it feel as if the year has been longer than it really is. I’ve graduated, I’ve moved back to Singapore, I’ve started working. Three milestones in a span of a year. It really turns your life upside down.

DSCN5405

On top of that, I’ve gone to Italy (a country that I’ve been dreaming of for a long time) and there has been a bumper crop of friends getting engaged and married. It’s surprising how all this has changed my perspective on life.

I know for sure that I want to travel more. I may not be able to do that right now, but somewhere in the future there is going to be a good deal of travelling. There are just so many places to explore, so many cultures to experience. The world is just full of new things to see, hear, smell, taste and touch. I can’t wait for the next adventure.

At the same time, I also know for sure that at some point I want to have a family of my own. I don’t know when that is going to happen, I don’t know if it’s even going to happen. But I will continue to hope and to love and perhaps something will happen down the road.

So as the year comes to an end, I’m really thankful to be back home. I absolutely love it here, and I really enjoy my job. I think it’s more than I could ever ask for. I’m also really glad that I’ve begun to read in earnest again. I think that books take up a bigger part of my life than I realized.

There have been a number of memorable authors I’ve fallen in love with this year. Top of my list is Italo Calvino followed by Walter Moers and H.P. Lovecraft. I would like to add Mary Shelly to that list, although I haven’t reviewed the books I’ve read by her yet, she is at this point of time my favourite female author. I’ve also had the great pleasure in reconnecting with some of my childhood favourites, or in some cases books that I missed out on. Philip Reeve has been amazing and I eagerly await his next book. Neil Gaiman is still brilliant and I wish he would write more. The series of unfortunate events and Artemis Fowl have both been entertaining reads. I’ve also read a lot of short stories this year, something that I never used to do. There has been quite a number of foreign books as well, which I’m happy to see. I know I need to continue to widen my horizons and read as broadly as possible.

The Bad BeginningYokai Attack at the mountaines of madness Scrivener's Moon the graveyard book the city of dreaming books

As for anime, well, what can I say? I think my taste is changing once again. I’m fond of the quirkier stuff now, they have constantly surprised me in good ways. I’ve been steering clear of “blockbuster” series to go for indie shorts instead. Rain town really stands out, as have all the no dialogue anime I’ve watched. They really showcase storytelling at it’s best. There has been quite a bit of rewatching as well, which has been good fun.

Dead Leaves nodame cantabile paris chapter puka puka juju rain town Ame to Shoujo to Watashi no Tegami

If you ask me what’s in store for next year, I think there will be quite a lot of changes. Of course there will still be a lot of the same. I will still be watching, reading and reviewing. At the same time, I’m tired of just doing reviews. I feel like I need more substance. And so here’s where you come in!

At this point I would really appreciate any thoughts on what you’d like me to wax on lyrically about. Or perhaps any way to spruce up my reviews. Or just general comments on how I could improve this little slice of the inter-web.

And to end of, there are two challenges that I would like to embark on as the new year approaches. I’m looking to read 100 books in 2013 and watch 50 anime as well. I don’t think it’ll be a problem. I read close to 40 books this year (and mostly during the last 5 months of the year). As for anime, as long as movies, and specials are counted as separate entries, I’m sure this won’t be a problem. Then again life does get in the way from time to time, but let’s just go with it. So if you have any recommendations for me to read/watch do let me know. I think the other 49 mini modern classics are already on my list (although they are proving impossible to find).

So here’s wishing you a lovely new year and although it may be sad that the world didn’t end this year, here’s looking forward to a brilliant 2013!

Happy New Year!

Comments
2 Responses to “It’s been a Long year”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    Ah, you have good taste in books. Mary Shelly is great and H.P. Lovecraft is entertaining. As for anime, have you reviewed Time of Eve, Mawaru Penguindrum or Kino’s Journey? I love those!

    In terms of sprucing up your reviews, I find they are good to read but as a fellow blogger I understand that you feel the need for change.

    Personally I always loved the blog Iwa ni Hana which would always tackle an anime article from an interesting angle – the use of a particular type of painting in various scenes. I’m sorry, that’s vague and it’s something I should really have a go at doing.

    Anyway, nice to meet you in 2012. I’ll see you in 2013.

    Happy New Year!

    • everworld says:

      Happy New Year! I can’t believe it’s already 2013! Seems like it’ll be an exciting year ahead!

      I have actually watched Time of Eve, but never reviewed it apparently. As for Kino’s journey and Mawaru Penguindrum they are both on my to watch list.

      As for the reviewing part, I guess I’ll have to experiment a little more to see what I’m comfortable with. Do you have the link for Iwa ni Hana, I can’t seem to find it…

Leave a Reply

