Anime: The Five Star Stories


Space Opera. Considering that sci-fiction is foreign to me, you can imagine the depth of my knowledge regarding the genre of space opera. Yet, when I watched The Five Star Stories, I was irrevocably and inexplicably drawn in.

Five Star Stories

 

This movie aired a year after I was born. The art style is reminiscent of that era where everything was slightly elongated and feminine. Even the men were feminine. It’s very different but very beautiful. Seeing how this movie is the adaptation of the first volume of an epic series, it’s understandable that it was confusing. There were a lot of information gaps. It is not a movie that should be watched alone. I think fans of the manga series by Mamoru Nagano are able to appreciate the movie much more.

I have never read the manga, yet watching this movie was a treat. I am inspired to go buy the entire series on my next outing to the shops. There’s a wealth of detail, of backstories, of history that just blows my mind. I love the epic tales. I love stories that tell of destiny and fate of the nations (or in this case universe) with a select cast of characters that are well-rounded. Characters that have a life of their own, struggles, love, heartache and joy. I want to see relationships being tested and how people can make a difference in the most dire of situations.

This movie gave me a teaser of that, which is why I won’t say it’s an amazing movie. But because of it, I can’t wait to jump into the series that inspired this movie.

The five star stories is a space opera. What that means is that it

 is a subgenre of science fiction that emphasizes romantic, often melodramatic adventure, set mainly or entirely in outer space, usually involving conflict between opponents possessing advanced technologies and abilities. The term has no relation to music and it is analogous to “soap opera”. Perhaps the most significant trait of space opera is that settings, characters, battles, powers, and themes tend to be very large-scale.

From Wikipedia

It tells the story of the Joker Star System, made up of five main stars each with their own rulers and systems. Naturally although everyone wishes for peace, they are all at war. At the beginning of the movie, we are introduced to theses giant machines (mortar headds) which are used in battle. These Mortar Headds are difficult to control and need to be co-piloted by Fatimas. Fatimas are computers (robots) created for the sole purpose of piloting Mortar Headds, however things are made interesting because they come in the form of really gorgeous women. To make things even more exciting, the new Fatimas have been created without mind control, and essentially act like adolescent girls. Epic right?

I am not doing justice to the story that this movie tells, so I will would really suggest you watch it find out more. It’s a great blast through the past (future?) and only takes an hour. I wish there was a continuation, because it feels like a great start. However, it would seem I have to satisfy myself with the manga for now.

Comments
2 Responses to “Anime: The Five Star Stories”
  1. Justin says:

    Hmm. I haven’t watched a ton of Space Opera (Banner of the Stars counts, but I haven’t seen it in so long), so definitely will add Five Star Stories to my anime and manga list. But, if it’s only an hour, you sure it’s not an OVA? I rarely hear of anime movies that are only an hour…but then again, I presume this is a pretty old film right?

Leave a Reply

