Book: Three Gothic Novels: Vathek


Vathek by William Beckford is a very disturbing story. The only reason why I read it, was that it was part of the compilation. Somehow, I don’t envision myself picking up a book like this again.

vathek

That said, I did enjoy the story. It was fascinating and horrific. It was absolutely captivating, the story flowed with such ease from character to character. Still, it was beyond creepy. Okay, maybe creepy is the wrong word to use. It has a very strong occult theme. Something that I’m not comfortable with. I understand that because it’s more oriental setting that occultism would play a pretty big part, but the whole devil worship is just not my cup of tea.

I think that it’s a solid novel. Good plot which progresses quite well. Even thought there are a few jumps as we look in on different characters, the story maintains it’s consistency which is admirable. The ending was also pretty good, if not expected. So, interesting read, quite worth reading as well, just not one of my favourites.

Comments
One Response to “Book: Three Gothic Novels: Vathek”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I did manage to get through the entire story and enjoy it though. It reminded me very much of Vathek. It’s the mixture of supernatural and tragedy with strange plots afoot. What really sets it […]



Leave a Reply

