Book: Twilight


What can I say about Twilight that hasn’t already been said? Nothing really. I’m just surprised that I actually finished the book.

Twilight

As a friend of mine said when I told her I was reading the book:

just consider it bad fanfiction, so bad that it’s good.

Having read and written my fair share of fanfiction, it’s hard for me to swallow how a book that was written so badly could be published and then become so popular. I just don’t understand. There are plenty of writers out there who write well. What do I mean by write well? Let’s have an example of bad writing from Twilight:

“Oh, I won’t tell anyone, I’m just curious.” I tried to make my smile alluring, wondering if I was laying it on too thick.
He smiled back, though, looking allured. Then he lifted one eyebrow and his voice wasย even huskier than before.

It drives me nuts and makes me sad just thinking of the number of people reading this book and saying that it’s good. Sure if the whole book was rewritten I might agree with them. Seriously, she needs to stop gushing about Edward. Just stop. And I’m going to ignore the whole redefinition of vampires. I put it down to creative license. But how about how popular Bella is? Every guy was falling heads over heels in love with her. And I do mean every guy, even the one who almost killed her with his truck.

Okay, the truth is (as if you couldn’t already tell), I abhor the book. I rolled me eyes so many times when I was reading it that it became a real possibility that my eyes would get stuck at the top of my head. It made me cringe. It made me wonder why I was doing this to myself. And it was the first time in a long while that I read two books concurrently. I just couldn’t take more than 2 chapters at a time. But if you ask me if I’d read the rest of the series, I’d have to say yes. I require that sense of completion. I also hope (beyond hope) that the writing gets better. I get the whole ‘I’m seriously obsessed with that bad boy over there, so much so that I constantly gush about him and can’t breath when he’s looking at me’. Sure it’s every girls fantasy (overgeneralization). Been there and done that, so I have to admit there is an appeal.

That said after reading Twilight I would never recommend it. I’m sure there are better books out there which cover similar themes but are actually well written.

Oh and on a side note (since I seem to be on a roll). The whole comparing Twilight to Harry Potter is just complete hogwash. Firstly they cover vastly different themes. Twilight is a book about romance. That’s all it really cares about. See that’s how it could possible spawn 50 shades of grey. Harry Potter on the other hand is more fantasy and adventure and friendship and all the stuff that makes you warm and fuzzy. So let’s not compare apples and oranges. And Yes, some aspects of the romance in Twilight is slightly disturbing but hey, disturbing books abound in this day and age.

Comments
2 Responses to “Book: Twilight”
  1. Vasiliki says:

    Unfortunately it only gets worse as the story progresses :P Good luck on your journey anyhow :)

Leave a Reply

