Book: Literary Britain and Ireland


Have I mentioned I love to travel?

Literary Britain and Ireland

 

And of course you already know that I love reading, so really what book could be better?

Reading a book is one of the great joys of life. It involves entering the world of an author’s imagination and spending time with them while they recount their tale to us. It’s no wonder that our favourite authors can start to feel like old friends, because we take so much pleasure from being in their company. We may never meet them, but we feel we known them in some essential way, because we have heard their voices, been touched by their emotions and viewed life from their perspective.

Excerpt from the Foreword

I totally agree it was really exciting and eye-opening to read about the places that inspired some of the authors I’ve read. At the same time, this book is really boring. I think it has to do with the fact that it contains a lot of fact, like when they live at a certain place, when they died and not enough of the in-between. They mention how different authors met or visited each other, but there’s no “juicy” details.

It was painful to read at times, but thankfully most of the entries are quite short and to the point. It also made me realize that there are so many more authors out there whom I had never heard of and who now interest me. It’s a fun way to learn about new authors and their books. So I do have to give some credit to the book. I just wish it was written in a more tourist guide fashion, to sort of play up why we should visit the place. I understand many of the buildings, museums and places of interest are not always on the tourist map, but all the more they should be lauded for why the authors were inspired and not just giving us information about the authors.

On a side note, I was really happy when I watched Cloud Atlas and recognized the Scott monument in Edinburgh. I did the whole “Ooh, I read about that.” It was a fleeting moment of accomplishment or what I usually call cheap thrill. But yes, I thought that was worth a mention. I also did a short search of literary tours of the United Kingdom and was surprised to find so few. I would totally go for one, if it covered an author I really loved. For that matter I think the United Kingdom is quite high on my places to visit. I only wish I could find the time.

Comments
2 Responses to “Book: Literary Britain and Ireland”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    I’ve got a book called Footsteps by Richard Holmes which might fit your desires. It’s part biography part travel writing and it follows Woodsworth, Stevenson, Selley and Wollstonecroft through Europe. I have not read it yet…

    I loved the book Cloud Atlas but haven’t seen the film yet.

Leave a Reply

