Book: The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other Stories


Tim Burton. I love his movies, especially his “animated” ones. I love his dark, gothic atmosphere present in so many of his films. I even went to the Tim Burton exhibition in Sydney and enjoyed it immensely. His illustrations and his stories are full of dark humour.

The melancholy death of oyster boy

 

It isn’t for everyone. A lot of the stories contained in this book are actually really sad and morbid. It’s short though and can be read in an hour. The illustrations are beautiful and that’s probably the reason why I borrowed this book in the first place. Also (as if you haven’t guessed) I’m quite the fan.

I’m not sure if I enjoyed it or if I was just disturbed, but I would recommend it as essential reading for fans. For those who want to get to know a bit more about Burton, give it a try. It won’t take much time. It’s similar to Roald Dahl’s adult work. I think that the best description I can give right now.

Leave a Reply

