Anime: Trigun: Badlands Rumble


I adore Trigun. The anime was my first contact with the series and I enjoyed it immensely. I loved the philosophical aspect of it, I loved the crazy comedy and what I loved most of all were the short segments at the end of each episode where Vash describes what is going to happen in the next episode. So many words of wisdom came out of those brief summaries. Just writing about it brings back so many happy memories.

The second contact was when I saw a cosplay of Wolfwood. Can you say obsessed?

Finally there was the manga. Words fail me here. It blew my mind. Over and over again.

So now, we’re here at the movie. Released in 2010, it did not let fans down.

Trigun Badlands Rumble

It brings back everything that was brilliant and updates it all with spectacular animation. Vash is back! He’s back to his mysterious, “coincidental” ways. Always at the right place at the right time. It’s like he’s a super know it all and controls the fates of those around him. He brings so much energy to the movie, all the funniest and strangest things happen around him. Yet it’s really sweet to see his serious side as well. It’s a constant reminder that beneath all those smiles and antics, there is a man who stands strong with his ideals.

If you have never met him, please take the chance and watch the movie. Get to know Vash and if you like him go watch the anime and read the manga. You will not regret it.

If like me, you greet Vash as an old friend, then the movie doesn’t come as much of a surprise. The plot is nothing to shout about, it’s the same redemption theme we see constantly in the series. Instead it’s the characters (the old familiar friends) that make this movie so enjoyable. Vash, Wolfwood, Milly and Meryl are together again. I think it’s more than we could have hoped for after so many years.

Comments
4 Responses to “Anime: Trigun: Badlands Rumble”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    Wow, I can feel the passion! I watched the first episode of the TV anime and I liked it but I left it at that. I did buy the soundtrack though.

  2. TWWK says:

    I really enjoyed this film – it was like finding another gem years after the original.

Leave a Reply

