Book: Entropia – A Collection of Unusually Rare Stamps


I feel like I’m on a roll. It’s just book after book of epicness. I’m overwhelmed and it would seem that the next book has a lot of expectation to live up to. That’s not a good thing, so I’ll pick my next book carefully. In the mean time may I present to you Entropia – A collection of unusually rare stamps. It sounds and feels like a nonfiction book about stamps, but oh my gosh, it is pure genius.

Entropia

Sometimes we forget that stories don’t have to be in the form a novel. Besides, remember the age-old saying that a picture is worth a thousand words? Well, in Entropia we get the best of both worlds.

This is a book about the world, planet, culture, history and geography of Entropia. It is a collection of unusually rare stamps, but each stamp tells a part of the story. And what a lovely story it paints. This book is brimming with imagination, it paints scenes of wonder and  takes your breath away. The history Entropia is an eventful one, full of scientific discoveries, civil wars, tragedy and festivals. The culture that is shown draws from cultures around the world, yet are made distinctive and unique. It’s rich and luxuriant and altogether wonderful. I wished the book never ended. There’s so much more to explore, to discover, to see, to touch, to do! It’s like finding a new country that absorbs you. It invades your mind, your heart and makes you wish you were there. I have never felt this way about a book before.

Coupled with the beautiful graphics of each stamp, this book is unforgettable. Who could have known that 60 stamps were enough to tell a story? Who knew that a story could be so enriched by accompanying illustrations? Who knew that an imaginary world would have seem so real and have just grasp on a reader’s mind?

Is it a book? Is it a graphic novel? Somehow it doesn’t matter, all I know is that Entropia was a random find in the library which changed my entire perspective on the impact that books can make as well as the forms in which they can take. It reminds me of Yokai Attack, which I adored. Yokai Attack was non fiction, in the sense that it detailed the lore and myths of Japanese culture. Entropia, is a pure work of fiction, masked as non-fiction, which makes it all the more amazing. So go find it, read it and excuse me while I go buy the book.

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Book: Entropia – A Collection of Unusually Rare Stamps”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    Sounds like a really great book. I like the concept of using stamps to tell the history of a world.

    • everworld says:

      It is a wonderful concept, I guess it reminds us that many things in our lives actually tell a story. Imagine telling a story from pictures on your phone. What kind of story are the films from a country telling us about the country? The possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

