Anime: No. 6


No. 6

Quite possible the only thing I liked about this anime was the opening theme. I thought that it was spectacular and it is what convinced me to actually watch the show. Other than that, nothing original, terrible pacing and really pathetic characters. Sure, lots of details and little hints dropped everywhere. I’ll give it that. And of course the use of Oscar Wilde’s The Happy Prince.

What can I say? It was a noitaminA anime, it sounded really interesting. Yet I have concluded once again that time skips are bad. Really bad. The real problem with this anime was how there was absolutely no progress be it plot-wise or character-wise for about 4-5 episodes. That’s about half the anime of nothingness. The worst part? The ending was predictable, so predictable, it made me cringe.

I don’t care enough about this anime to criticize it properly. Let’s just put it this way, the opening theme more or less sums up the entire anime. Two boys from vastly different worlds, with polar opposite personalities meet and blow away all their pasts bringing in a bright and shining future. Cheesy. I know. That was the point.

Okay, I’m not sure if it’s because of the source material or if the anime was just too short. When two worlds collide, things happen. Many things happen. Yet throughout the show, nothing happened. There was no response to new information, there was no mental breakdown, there was indifference. There was no action against the injustice of the world. Instead it was about two boys who were obviously in love with each other but for some reason or another, had to keep it on the down low so that the audience wouldn’t find out. This is not what entertainment is about. This is just boring. And that is all I have to say.

Please, tell me I’m missing something with this anime. I just can’t believe that it’s this bad.

Comments
6 Responses to “Anime: No. 6”
  1. TWWK says:

    Yuh…this show was pretty awful. Actually, pretty, but awful. I only made it through a few episodes.

    • everworld says:

      In hindsight I should have stopped after episode 2. Sigh.

      • TWWK says:

        I should stopped at the opening credits. -_-‘

        But some people love it…I think mostly because of the BL undertones.

      • everworld says:

        BL undertones. Haha. They weren’t exactly covert, more overt. All things considered, it might have turned out better if it was a BL anime. It would have made the relationship a bit more exciting.

  2. I’m surprised that you found this anime so dull. I thought that the post-apocalyptic setting was rather cool, and the characters were unique–the endless conflict between the main characters over whether to save the city or let the plague destroy it was particularly interesting to me.

    Perhaps, I just haven’t seen as much anime as you, so I found it interesting. :)

    • everworld says:

      The setting was cool, I think the whole concept was quite original. It’s just that there’s wasn’t sufficient explanations for things that occurred, like how the town outside the city exists and how other cities are different and stuff like that. The world wasn’t fleshed out well. As for the characters, they spent a lot of time debating between themselves, which turned out to be pointless, since they were convinced of their own beliefs. That’s what bored me actually.

      Although, to each their own. :)

Leave a Reply

