Book: Cat’s Cradle


I have a confession to make, I don’t know my modern classic authors well. Other than Kafka, I’ve never really heard of most of them. Yet I seem to have chanced upon a number of really interesting reads. For example, there was Italo Calvino whom I now adore. Most recently there is Kurt Vonnegut and his book Cat’s Cradle.

Cat's Cradle

I will not say that I love this book. Perhaps the satirical nature is just too much for me. Still, it remains an enjoyable read. Surprisingly easy to follow despite all the jumps and tangents in the storyline. It is inventive and entertaining and the little snippets of “truth” with regards to Bokononism are pure genius.

There are a lot of things to like in this book, it’s well written, it’s witty and a hilarious read. The part I really liked most? When one of the characters described a cat’s cradle.

“A cat’s cradle is nothing but a bunch of X’s between somebody’s hands, and little kids look and look and look at all those X’s…”

“And?”

‘No damn cat, and no damn cradle.’

And perhaps this is exactly the point of the book. Everything in this work of fiction is a lie. That’s exactly what is stated at the beginning of the book. Yet we readers keep trying to search for meaning and themes and something more. Instead, I’ll just enjoy the book for what’s it’s worth and not try to read too much between the lines. Read it and laugh or weep, or both at the same time. Cat’s cradle is a wonderful novel about the end of the world and how little anyone really cares about it.

Leave a Reply

