Book: Ox-tales Air


Having read the first book of this series recently, I was quite interested to read the rest. So here is Air, the second collection of short-stories compiled by Ox-farm.

Ox-tales Air

The short story I was looking forward to was by Alexander McCall Smith. I’d heard of his books, but have never read anything by him before, so this was a great opportunity. As much as I like his story, it felt unsettling. And for some reason, that was the feeling that I got from most of the stories in this collection.

They are well written, intriguing and interesting reads in their own right. But there’s a pervasive feeling that something isn’t quite right. I can’t put my finger on it. Some of the stories are really weird, like The Desert Torso and Goodnight Children, Everywhere. But I can deal with weird when it’s staring me in the face. Sure it’s strange and slightly creepy, yet some of the other stories about dysfunctional relationships left me hanging. Perhaps it’s because the stories were so short, or maybe this feeling was what the author was trying to evoke. Still, it doesn’t make for enjoyable reading.

So long story short, I didn’t like the book. I think that this collection was too cryptic. It felt like there were layers and layers of story that I had to peel away before getting to a better understanding of what the story was trying to say. Honestly, it was too much work and although I managed to gleam the gist of it, it was definitely inadequate and just left me very dissatisfied. 

Leave a Reply

