Book: The Time Machine


The Time Machine

H.G. Wells the father of science fiction? So they say, and I guess from the sheer amount of famous work he has produced, I cannot deny his influence on science fiction. The library I went to recently had a showcase of science fiction and I picked this book up (because it looked thin!). I actually wanted to borrow The War of the Worlds as well, but I figured I would start with this. Besides, I had read War of the Worlds before, but I only watched the movie for The Time Machine.

Can I just start by saying how different the book is from the movie. For some reason I actually remembered the plot from the movie, and was expecting the book to be similar. It is nothing alike. I personally like the book better.

The time machine is obviously about time travel and the time traveller who builds a time machine and goes travelling into the future and the discoveries he makes there. The plot is actually really similar to “At The Mountains of Madness” by H.P. Lovecraft. They both have scientific background that serves as an introduction to the main story. There’s also that psychological play on the fear of the unknown and the growing realization of what is to happen. With the time machine, this exploration takes place in the future and that fear is of what has happened to mankind. With Lovecraft it was more about discovering the remnants of the past and of extraterrestrial life. While Lovecraft does do the psychological portion better, Wells brings in a more philosophical perspective about how the human race can develop and what will happen millenniums from now.

I enjoyed the book and I loved the ending. I think that it’s perfect. I would like to read more of H.G. Wells’ works, most of them seem quite short and manageable. Add to that an unhealthy obsession with H.G. Wells due to Warehouse 13.

On a completely unrelated note, can I mention that I have found the prettiest collection that I hope to one day own. The Penguin English Library is just so lovely to look at! I was searching for book covers of The Time Machine and this just caught my eye. It is divine! Love it!

The Time Machine Penguin English Library

Comments
2 Responses to “Book: The Time Machine”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    I read the book a few years ago and was also surprised at the changes from the movie version (we’re talking the 1960 movie right?). You should read his short story The Red Room. Brilliant psychological horror.

    • everworld says:

      I was referring to the much more recent movie version. Although, hearing you mention the older adaptation has gotten me intrigued about what that storyline was like. And yes, I’m on a H.G. Wells spree, so will definitely check out as many of his stories as possible.

Leave a Reply

