Book: Artemis Fowl and the Last Guardian


Aretmis Fowl and the Last Guardian

Wow, so we’re finally at the end. It’s been a really interesting ride and I must say that Artemis Fowl is one of the most intriguing and memorable characters I have met on page. The stories have been amazing, the plots are intricate, well planned and just full of action and adventure. I think the series is a really good for boys especially and Artemis stands out not only because of his intellect, but the fact that he doesn’t actually do any of the heavy lifting is unique as well. Of course the entire development of his character is what draws me back to the series time and time again.

This final book is the climax for all the changes that Artemis has gone through. It’s the epitome of his conversion to becoming a loving and caring individual. Yet to be honest, I fell in love with Artemis when he was all wit and sarcasm. I loved him when he was manipulative and deceitful. Sure he was a criminal mastermind, but his priorities have always been his family and I think that says a lot about his character.  As he made more friends and began to think about those around him, it was a welcome change but he has lost that spark that first drew me to him.

In this last chapter of his ‘biography’, he’s become almost unrecognizable. If you’ve ever wondered if there were any cons to being too nice, this book will show you that there is. Story-wise it was good, I love how it all came back to the Fowl mansion and to be pit against our favourite villain is a fitting end. What I didn’t appreciate was the ending. It felt ridiculous, and keep in mind that the entire story revolves around faeries.  It was too much, over the top, it felt like the author was exaggerating Artemis’s change in character. It made the ending shallow when it should have emotional and heart-rendering. In fact the best part of the book was the chapter of Foaly.

I wish the book ended differently. For a series that has been great so far, this last book is a bit of a disappointment. Oh well, it does happen to the best of the series. Building up expectation book by book, only to be let down by the last one.

That said, I’m really glad I’ve gotten into children’s fiction. Does anyone have any recommendations for what I should read next? I’ve started on A series of unfortunate events and Spiderwick Chronicles, but I’m definitely open to more!

Leave a Reply

