Book: A Spot of Bother


A Spot of Bother

A disturbing yet amusing portrait of a dignified man trying to go insane politely

More or less sums up this book. It was an interesting read, with a really dysfunctional family that kind of reminds you of the strange people who make up your own family. In the midst of all the busyness and drama, it highlights the bonds that really make families. I love the characters, I love how real they came across and how raw the feelings portrayed felt. The situations were commonplace yet hilarious and he turned the most mundane acts in something out of a reality TV show. Yes, it’s dramatic and I guess a little over the top, but I really enjoyed reading about the cast of characters and how varied and unique each of them were.

I must admit that I didn’t like the book all the much. Perhaps because it’s not the type of book I would usually pick up to read. Still, it was enjoyable, although not as good as ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time’.

Leave a comment