Book: The Inivisible Man


Remember when I mentioned that I was slightly obsessive? Yeah, I’m sort of in a H.G. Wells phase, and although he’s not my favourite author, I have a compulsion to read as many of his books that I can get my hands on. And this is  why I try not to read new authors too often.

The Invisible Man

But enough about me and more about the invisible man! The Invisible Man has become such a popular character through films and adaptations. Yet having read the book for the first time, it wasn’t as impactful as I thought it would be. Perhaps it’s the blend of comedy and tragedy that sort of throws the book. I was expecting something along the lines of Frankenstein, but the invisible man is vastly different. It tells the story about a man’s forray into the science of invisibility. How the idea of becoming invisible captures him and when he does finally become invisible, he loses all morality and his mind at the same time.

What starts off as an innocent experiment changes him as he resorts to cruel means to remain invisible. There was no build up at the horror of what he had become, we are introduced to the invisible man right from the start as he tried to become visible once again. Yet through a series of unfortunate incidents, he is made known to the world at large, and instead moves to satisfy his deepest darkest desires that first drove him to invisibility. Naturally his thinking is flawed and invisibility was never what he expected it to be.

The idea is amazing. The entire concept of an invisible man is groundbreaking, and that seems to be a hallmark of H.G. Wells. He has the most wonderful ideas and concepts, yet I can’t seem to enjoy his stories. I’m not sure if it’s his writing style that I dislike, but the invisible man just didn’t cut if for me.

Comments
2 Responses to “Book: The Inivisible Man”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    I felt like you did for most of the book and then I came to the final sequence… I really found the Invisible Man’s siege of the house and the subsequent chase genuinely scary!

    • everworld says:

      The ending was actually quite good, but it didn’t make up for the lack of enjoyment in the first part of book. It didn’t help that the book was quite short.

Leave a Reply

