Anime: Death Billiards


Remember when I talked about the Young Animators Training Project last year? Well, I recently managed to catch up on this year’s crop and I have to say it’s been a really exciting time!

The first project I’m going to review is Death Billiards. I love the animation and the style of this anime, it oozes class and sophistication with just a touch of the creepy. But what really won me over was the story and how it manages to explore so many different topics in just a short 25 minutes.

Death Billiards

 

The story is about two men, one old and one younger who are brought to this bar and made to play billiards. The rules of the game is cryptic, but the one thing is that they are to play as if their lives were at stake. This brings an entire new dimension to the show. It looks at a very psychological aspect of winning and losing and the lengths at which each person is willing to preserve their own life. Add to their lack of recollection of how they got to the bar, and we have an interesting unfolding of events that lead up to an amazing twist. It surprises not only the audience, but turns really shifts the dynamics of the game as well.

It hits all the right spots for me. I love the mix of the philosophical with the psychological and how the setting is in a bar just makes it so much more fun. The ending was also really good and left a lot of questions but not in an incomplete kind of way, more of a let the audience decide what happens. Which is daring and probably why this anime should stay as a single episode rather a series. I really don’t wish for more, I think just one episode has brought a lot of existential questions to mind that will probably take a while to digest and really appreciate. So kudos to Madhouse and the talented bunch who animated this.

Comments
2 Responses to “Anime: Death Billiards”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    I watched it this morning and I thought it was one of the best things Madhouse has done in a while! The animation and music are so cool and the story is intriguing. I loved the way it implemented flashbacks. It has a set up similar to Bartender which means it could run and run and show different customer but at the end I felt the same way you did and was happy to leave it as a one-shot.

    • everworld says:

      I think the fact that it was set in a bar really reminded me of Bartender. But I think the concept would get old really fast if it did get made into a series. Still, it’s one my favourites from this batch of projects.

Leave a Reply

