Anime: Ao no Exorcist Movie


Ao no Exorcist was a surprise find for me back in 2011. I really enjoyed the series and look forward to reading the manga when it eventually ends. I’ve anticipated the movie since it was announced, and was hoping it would be more of a continuation, rather than a “spin-off”. Sadly, it was a one episode kind of event, which is typical of shounen series movies. I cannot say I am surprised, nor am I disappointed. It has brought back what I really loved and enjoyed in the series and the animation is gorgeous as usual.

Ao no Exorcist Movie

 

 

The story revolves the ever clumsy but good-hearted Rin and his time at True Cross Academy. It’s back to missions (sometimes under the command of his brother) and of course school break as the academy gears up for a festival that occurs once every 11 years. The theme of the movie focuses on memories, both good and bad memories and how this shapes people. It’s something that has been done before, and completely predictable. The characters responded in ways that you knew they would, and I guess there’s really not much to this movie. The plot I found to be a little haphazard, there seemed to be a lot going on, but there was no explanation to a lot of it. Instead we spend a lot of time with RIn and his interactions with a little demon (boy?) that he found. It’s sweet and adorable, but we all know what’s going to happen next.

I guess as shounen movies goes, this was pretty run of the mill. I feel a little cheated with my anticipation, but it was still an enjoyable watch overall. Good mix of action and comedy. Nothing to shout about, but nothing to really complain about either. Average is the word of the day. Decent entertainment value, and if you are in the mood for something of this genre, then by all means give it a shot.

Comments
2 Responses to “Anime: Ao no Exorcist Movie”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    The TV anime was solid. Fun comedy and some thrilling action. I’m not surprised to hear that the movie is just more of the same.

Leave a Reply

