Book: Love


Remember when I mentioned my current infatuation with Pablo Neruda? I’m sorta, kinda, really obsessed with him. And this has translated to borrowing almost every book I’ve been able to find that contain his poetry. Yes, this means that you’ll be seeing a lot of reviews of his books in the coming days and weeks.

Love

This particular collection contains the poems that inspired the film based on the book – The Postman. It contains my favourite poem (thus far) – Ode to the sea.

It’s actually the longest poem in the collection and speaks about the sea and how men struggle against it. It’s really beautiful, and I’ve posted a snippet of it before. It captures the rhythm of the waves and the majesty of nature. Juxtaposed against that is man, and how we seek to harness the sea’s power and resources for ourselves. You have to read it.

I don’t know why, but Neruda’s poetry just resonates with me. It’s a magical feeling that I’ve never experienced before with other poets. And of course the words, such beautiful words.

The moon lives in the lining of your skin.

I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of his works, and I hope that you too will give him a shot.

Leave a Reply

