Here’s to 2014


2013 has come and gone. It’s been an amazing year. I finally have a driving license which is incredible, especially on my first try. I put on braces, which has been difficult but I’m looking towards the end goal and not the process. I  was a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding which was both a nightmare as well as magical. Not sure, how to explain that. I’ve also made it to Israel which was beyond my expectations.

P1010670

I feel like I’ve grown a lot this year, personally and spiritually. I went for a course on counselling, which I am currently considering as a career choice. I got confirmed at church, since I was baptised as a baby. Serving in church with the special kids ministry has been really rewarding, I’ve learnt from both the volunteers as well as the children, and it has been an invaluable experience. I’m looking forward to another year of that. I’m still in love with my job and the children, it’s been really painful to have to close down the centre and even as I prepare to move on to a different job, I’ll always treasure this first job. It’s just been a joy and so much fun and laughter. On hindsight I probably have attachment issues, but I’m still learning.

In terms of reading and watching, I think I didn’t do too spectacularly. I read 89 books, just 11 books short of my goal of 100. In terms of anime, I think I hit 31 out of 50. Ouch.

Otona Joshi no Anime Time

Entropia

So, reflections, a summary:

TsuritamaWolf ChildrenThe PostmanItalo Calvino also The Young Animator Training Project and Pablo Neruda.

 

What about 2014?

Well the goal this year is 75 books which should be much more manageable. Expect a few more manga is this section (as I try to cheat my way to 75). Also I made a resolution to read one Christian book each month, so you can look forward to that. Anime-wise, there’s a lot I need to catch up on. I can feel I’m moving out of my anime watching slump, which bodes well so I’ll keep the goal at 50.

I’m seriously considering taking up lessons in Japanese, which if I do should add some flavour to the reviews. Other than that, I would love to try writing slightly more in-depth, analytical type reviews. I’m not confident of that yet, so I’ll probably need to experiment a little bit more. There are a few ideas bouncing around in my head, but it will take some work to get them down on paper, so don’t expect anything soon.

In the meantime, here’s wishing you a blessed New Year and I hope that 2014 will be an epic year for all of us.

Comments
6 Responses to “Here’s to 2014”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    Happy New Year!

    There’s so many anime and manga out there for you to choose from so I’m curious as to what you will pick. I want to do more manga reviews this year. Perhaps we can team up or something.

    I hope you have a brilliant 2014.

    • everworld says:

      My list of to-watch anime from 2013 is very long at this point of time, so I’m hoping to strike a few off. Manga reviews seem difficult to do, maybe because I haven’t read that many or written many either.

      And yes, teaming up does sound interesting!

Leave a Reply

