Book: The Handmaid’s Tale: The Graphic Novel


Truth be told, I’ve never read the Handmaid’s Tale. I know. Sacrilegious. I have no words to explain myself. That being said I have been intrigued by it especially since it was adapted for the screen. However it’s slightly intimidating knowing how dark and bleak the original material is and I’ve just never been in the mood to sit down and read it. Yet.

40766383

This was a good foray though. I absolutely loved the way it was drawn and although I can’t comment on the how true to the original it is, I must admit I thoroughly enjoyed it.

It feels like a good introduction to the original novel, the art was gorgeous but doesn’t distract from the story, pacing was good, it was an easy yet unsettling read. The colour palette in particular stood out. The splash of red amongst a much more muted background. I guess a lot of thought went into it.

Hopefully now, I’ll be more inclined to pick up the source material.

Leave a comment