Book: Literary London


The best bribe which London offers today to the imagination, is, that, in such a variety of people and conditions, one can believe there is room for persons of romantic character to exist, and that the poet, the mystic, and the hero may hope to confront their counterparts.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

In preparation for my London 2023 trip and my first time in London, I’ve been doing a lot of reading. And books that connect some of my favourite authors to the many locations in the city have been a great way for me to explore and get to know the city even before I step foot in it.

This particular book has been a great journey through the different time periods of London and the little maps of locations which I can still visit or pubs I can sit and drink at are an added bonus. I also appreciate the list of recommended addresses to visit AND books to read by relevant authors. I have added so many new books to my list (although admittedly, some have been sitting on my TBR for a long time).

A lot of interesting nuggets of information and scandals (OH THE SCANDALS) are contained in this entertaining yet informative read. Definitely would recommend to all book lovers.

And please if you have any recommendations for London, please let me know.

Leave a comment