I got Tagged! (also known as the Blogger Interrogation Game)


I admit, I’m not very active in the blogosphere. I don’t read many blogs, especially anime or book related ones. I tend towards the more creative types, like craft or food blogs. And yet here I am reviewing anime and books. It’s a strange twist of fate I suppose. I’m not new to blogging, I’ve documented most of my teenage years on blogs, but this was a departure because it was so impersonal. I started it simply because I wanted to be able look back at anime I’ve watched or books I read and remember what I felt. So if you asked me if I knew that there would be people following, liking or even tagging me, I would have just laughed it off and put it down to dreams. And dreams are fickle things, they don’t always come true in the real world (as I have recently learnt). Then again, sometimes they surprise you and that is the story of how I got Tagged. 

So welcome to the Blogger Interrogation Game and thank you TWWK for tagging me. I was very surprised and very honoured. And before I start rambling again, here are the rules:

  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives. You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so forth. You should answer your own 5 questions as well. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

And the QUESTIONS (and answers of course!)

It’s been said over and over that film works don’t live up to the written works they’re based on.  Have you ever watched an anime you enjoyed more than the manga on which it was based?  How about a non-Japanese book and film?

I have this strange habit of either watching the anime or reading the manga and never actually both. I have started out watching an anime (Bleach, Reborn!) and then moving on the manga instead. I’ve never done it the other way around, but there have been a lot of anime (Kekkaishi, Nodame, Bartender) that don’t animate the entire manga and so I’m left with just the manga in the end.  But to answer the question, I think a lot of action based manga fare pretty well in anime form. Simply because they are more engaging. The same goes with music based manga. In terms of books and films, I am a firm supporter of books. There has never been a film that was better than a book.

What’s couple you ship that we might find strange?

No, I ship pretty normal pairings. Although in Avatar I preferred Zuko X Katara, but that’s not strange either is it?

Is there a religion, other than your own, that you admire or find very interesting?

For those who don’t already know, I’m a Christian. That being said, if there was one religion I could choose to learn more about, it would have to be Shinto. It has a lot to do with how much I’ve seen in anime that really piques my interest. And of course the Onmyouji side of it is really cool.

Best magical girl of all time?

I’m not familiar with a lot of magical girls, so I would have to go with Cardcaptor Sakura. It’s a childhood nostalgia thing. But coming a close second would be Akazukin no Cha Cha. I don’t know how many of you are familiar with that show, it is quite old and I’ve been seriously looking for complete episodes. I used to watch it as a kid and I really enjoyed it and would love to watch it again.

What anime do you really want to see get a release in your country?

Now this is a difficult question to answer. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think that all anime is legal in Singapore. The reason for this is because we don’t release anything for the Japanese companies. Well, we used to have one firm that tried (cough-ODEX-cough) but they didn’t do a splendid job. I think most of us here, just import stuff from overseas be it the original  (Japan) or with Chinese subtitles/dubbing (China, Taiwan, Hong Kong) or from the US for those who need English subtitles. So in that sense I don’t wait for things to be released in Singapore, so I can’t actually answer that question.

Yes, those are my feet. :) Probably the most that you’ll see of me for now.

And now for the questions I would like to ask (and my answers):

1) If you could pick a book/anime to have with you on a desert island, what would it be?

The book would have to be Lord of the Rings as for anime, I would pick something that was really long, like Naruto, One Piece or Bleach. 

2) What book/anime universe would you like to live in?

If I had to pick just one, it would be the world of Supernatural (yes the TV series, although it’s an anime too)

3) Who is your fictional soulmate?

Quite honestly I would have to say Sanzo from Saiyuki. I’ve been really attached to him for really long and the more I learn about him, the more I’m sure we would get along.

4) Why do you like anime and what are some aspects of anime that you could do without?

I watch anime because it really gives me that sense of escape. Escape from reality and I really enjoy the different worlds that I can see and the different characters and all of that. The only thing that doesn’t always sit right with me is the fanservice, a lot of times it’s really pointless and doesn’t add anything to the anime. 

5) And because I am really curious and sometimes a bit strange, what’s your favourite food?

Hands down, I love Hainanese chicken rice. But for those who are unfamiliar with that, I would say I enjoy Japanese cuisine as well. 

So the people I tag are:

Genkinahito’s blog

TWWK

Black Strawberry

Canne’s anime review blog

Dramatic Reviews

Comments
4 Responses to “I got Tagged! (also known as the Blogger Interrogation Game)”
  1. Genki Jason says:

    Thanks for tagging me. I’ll get something up this Sunday!

  2. Genki Jason says:

    Hey Annoying Dragon, here are my answers.

    I see you are planning for a long stay on the desert island what with your choice of anime and book. I am not really a fan of either and I think both Naruto and Lord of the Rings would be used as fuel for a fire to alert passing planes/ships.

    I used to watch Supernatural but lost interest after season 5.

    I see we both dislike fan service.

    Nice choice with Sanzo as well – very respectable character.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Here are my first set of answers, for the questions posed by Annoying Dragon: […]

  2. […] Everworld tagged me for the Blogger Interrogation Game. I’ve taken part in 7×7 and Liebster and even […]



Leave a comment